Board of Director Profile
Gordon Smith, MD, FAAN
Director of Medicine

Dr. A. Gordon Smith MD is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurology at Virginia Commonwealth University, where he serves as the Kenneth and Dianne Wright Distinguished Chair in Clinical and Translational Research in Neurology. Dr. Smith specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of neuromuscular disorders.

Dr. Smith is a graduate of the University of Virginia and the Mayo Medical School. He subsequently completed a neurology residency and neuromuscular medicine fellowship at the University of Michigan. Dr. Smith is an internationally recognized expert in neuromuscular medicine with a particular focus on disorders of the peripheral nervous system. Prior to his current role, he served as Vice Chair for Research, Chief of the Division of Neuromuscular Medicine and Director of the Jack H. Petajan EMG Laboratory at the University of Utah. Smith’s NIH funded research team focuses on peripheral neuropathy in diabetes and obesity. He has a particular interest in biomarker development and novel clinical trial design in peripheral neuropathy. He was principal investigator of the Utah Regional site in the NINDS-funded Network for Excellence in Neuroscience Clinical Trials (NeuroNEXT), a national clinical trials network that performs innovative treatment studies for neurological disorders.  He is a member of the NeuroNEXT Executive Committee. Dr. Smith is PI of the Topiramate as a Disease Modifying Therapy for Cryptogenic Sensory Peripheral Neuropathy (TopCSPN) trial being performed by NeuroNEXT. TopCSPN is the first large scale randomized trial of a treatment to alter the natural history of CSPN, which is one of the most common neurological disorders. He is also PI of the Activity for Diabetic Neuropathy (ADAPT) Trial. Dr. Smith has led or participated in numerous clinical trials in neuromuscular disorders including the Impaired Glucose Tolerance Neuropathy Study (IGTN) and the Utah Diabetic Neuropathy Study (UDNS). Smith holds numerous national and international leadership roles. He serves on the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Neurology and Foundation for Peripheral Neuropathy, and the Board of Trustees of the American Brain Foundation. Dr. Smith joined Board of Directors of the Mission Gait Foundation in 2022.

Board of Directors

David A. Lawrence, MSPT, ATC-ret

Founder, Chief Executive Officer

Ann Parker Gottwald


Robin Yoder

Director of Community Reintegration

Gordon Smith, MD, FAAN

Director of Medicine

In Memory Of

Mission Gait Foundation would like to recognize and acknowledge Gail Grisetti, MPT, Ed.D, for over 20 years of service and commitment to Walking Free international missions.

Gail Grisetti, MPT, Ed.D

Director of Walking Free